Club Members Adam Burgess and Chris Bowers Head up the National Rankings

After a week or two’s speculation, the waters subsided and the sun came out to welcome the start of the 2019 Selection Series at Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham.  The course had been closed the previous week because of high water levels which had restricted training for some.  The two days of racing  was the first two of three races for GB U23 and Junior Teams as well as being a Premier Division Ranking Race.

On Saturday, Alfie Boote (C1M Jnr) was the first to stamp his authority with two good runs and a win in the Junior race and 9th in the Division.  Adam Burgess won the C1M overall. In K1M, Chris Bowers put down two great runs to win his category.

On Sunday, there was the added complexity that the selection results were calculated as a virtual semi-final / final.  This time Alfie was able to qualify for the final but couldn’t convert that and so ended up 5th.  Kurts Adams Rozentals, however, was able to make his mark with a 3rd place which keeps his Junior Team ambitions alive.  For Junior C1M, the selection is now wide open with Alfie in a great place at the head of the selection points and Kurts Adams still in there with a chance.  In the Premier race, Adam Burgess made it a double with a second win.

In K1M, Kurts Adams already had a 5th place from Saturday and needed to improve.  He fought hard but luck wasn’t on his side and the improvement was only one place and, unfortunately, that won’t be enough to carry him through.  Still, we’re sure there will be plenty of lessons learnt and a final opportunity next year as a Junior.  Again, Chris Bowers took the win and sealed his selection for the U23 Team this year.

Luc Royle – Photo by Kim Jones

Summary of positions for club paddlers in all classes below.

Ranking race



1 Adam Burgess

8 Sam Maingay

9 Alfie Boote

18 Kurts Adams Rozentals

21 Luc Royle


14 Hannah Bailey

40 Shannon Judge

42 Jessica Magson


1 Chris Bowers

14 James Bailey

17 Kurts Adams Rozentals

18 Rob Neave

21 Paul Sunderland

32 Mike Dickinson

34 Robin Vasey

36 Ed Dickinson

48 James Grocock

63 Thomas Mayer

65 Sam Miles

66 John Dickinson


19 Jessica Magson



1 Adam Burgess

10 Sam Maingay

12 Kurts Adams Rozentals

15 Alfie Boote 

19 Luc Royle


12 Hannah Bailey

23 Shannon Judge


1 Chris Bowers

10 James Bailey

17 Rob Neave

18 Paul Sunderland

20 Mike Dickinson

24 Kurts Adams Rozentals

28 Ed Dickinson

31 Robert Holdway

32 Peter Willett

41 James Grocock

42 Robin Vasey

52 Sam Miles

59 John Dickinson

62 Thomas Mayer